Verified
Graham D
1 Reviews
Sep 10, 2021
Verified
Sep 10, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2015

Naar to Upper Mustang - 2015
Although this is ostensibly a review of the Naar to Upper Mustang trek that the Mountain Company ran in Autumn 2015, I think a preamble is appropriate: I've been trekking in the Himalayan region since 2001 and since 2008 have been on 9 treks run by The Mountain Company (TMC). The company, led by Roland Hunter, is outstanding. The treks are thoroughly researched and recce'd and the pre trek support and service on all TMC trips is exceptional. The trekking leaders are highly qualified, and experienced. The guides and crew are knowledgeable, friendly and supportive. And Roland looks after them - in the aftermath of the terrible 2015 earthquake in Langtang and during COVID the company has continued to support and care for its Nepali crew with a hardship fund (https://uk.gofundme.com/f/help-support-our-trekking-guides-in-nepal). The combination of Roland's dilligence, talent with logistics and deep understanding of the Himalayan region make all the treks his company runs a thoroughly enjoyable experience. This is augmented by the personal touch that Roland brings to all the treks - Mountain Company is a small enterprise, but in the many years that Roland has spent in the Himalayan area he has got to know all the best people. The staff on this trek (ably led by Tom Lawson and Gopal Tamang) were no exception. The Naar to Upper Mustang trek starts and ends on the Annapurna trail but spends most of it's time in the Mustang area. As such, the overall experience has a more Tibetan/Ladakh flavour to it than purely Nepalese. So, while it may lack the snow capped majesty and "big name" mountains of some other Nepalese Himalayan trips, it offers a more authentically cultural experience. This is a part of Nepal unaffected by the tourism that the "big name" mountains inevitably attract. I won't cover the itinery here (you can get that from the brochure). Besides, it changed: On route to the High Camp below the Teri La pass we encountered a lot of loose, powdery snow on scree slopes, making it too risky to continue. However, rather than just abandoning the trek (as some other companies would do if the advertised itinery was no longer feasible) Tom and Gopal put their heads together and came up with a new route: Across the Kang La pass to Manang and thence on to Tilicho Lake, Mesokantha La and finally to Jomsom. The Mesokantha La descent was steep and required fixed ropes which added to the sense of adventure. I should point out that Tom and Gopal weren't endangering us with an "of the cuff" route - all the options were explained and discussed. We were all very grateful to them for putting in the extra effort to save our holiday with this impromptu itinery. As with all the other TMC trips I've done, this one is highly recommended.
Anonymous
Aug 10, 2021
Aug 10, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2020

TMC, a great trek team for Mardi Himal and a super "Covid recovery" assist!!
All of the pre-expediton information and support was first rate, with plenty of chances to ask questions and gain reassurance as two nervous first time trekkers. The logistics and warmth of support on the ground was also very good with a good balance to the sight seeing trips pre-trek. Once on the trek we were both encouraged and reassured by the warm and professional approach of our guide (Hebi) and porter (Min). The pace was managed to ensure we remained comfortable and the altitude gain was ideal to ensure we were able to cope without any adverse effects. Our guide had planned stops in relatively quiet villages and camps which was pleasant and whilst accommodation is basic it is of good clean standard and everyone we met was very friendly. This is a great trek for both a beginner introduction to Nepal and trekkers with concerns about managing altitude issues. Then having almost completed our trek we became aware of the gravity of the developing Covid worldwide situation. We can not praise the Roland and the team enough for the energy they put in to ensuring we could achieve an early return to the UK (even furnishing domestic flight tickets without our payment, we were just told "pay the local team once your back and safe in Katmandu!”). At a time when we were deeply worried about how we would get back the the UK, TMC showed great qualities for which we will always be very grateful. In summary this trek was exceptionally well run and when we hit difficulties TMC stepped up and delivered big time!! Thank you! WE WILL CERTAINLY USE AGAIN!!
Nancy T
1 Reviews
Jul 23, 2021
Jul 23, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2019

Everest Base Camp. In the Footsteps of Hillary
I did my fourth trek, Everest Base Camp, in 2019 with The Mountain Company (TMC). Like all the other treks, the itinerary was expertly planned for acclimatisation, trek at a leisurely pace and time built in to visit local cultural sights. The guides and crew, as always, were very professional, friendly and ready to help. This also applies to Roland, Managing Director. Roland is very responsive and helpful. Safety and well-being of the local community, crew and trekkers are high on his priority list. This is evident on how he implemented plans to help clean up garbage on trails; setting up hardship funds to help out the crew during the pandemic; satellite phones for daily check-in and emergency communication, and the ratio of crew to trekkers to ensure slow trekkers like myself are not left behind or felt the need to rush and catch up with those ahead. This was a standard lodge trek. All the lodges were very comfortable and clean. The food was very good as well. Based on my experience, I have no hesitation in recommending The Mountain Company. I am looking forward to trekking with them as soon as travel is possible.
Verified
Mary C
1 Reviews
Jul 01, 2021
Verified
Jul 01, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2019

The Trip of a Lifetime
As soon as we arrived, we knew we were in safe hands, with a personal interest in our welfare and enjoyment. I am at the extreme age for trekking, but the guides were superb. They offered silent support at all times, with a helping hand or taking a heavy day pack. The helped up to enjoy their beautiful country with them, and it was sad to leave them. They worked tirelessly on our behalf .I recommend this trip to anyone with a sense of adventure and wonder. It was the trip of a life time. Thank you.
Verified
Richard P
1 Reviews
Jul 01, 2021
Verified
Jul 01, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2018

Well organised and hugely enjoyable trek. Great trekking cre
Well organised and hugely enjoyable trek. Great trekking crew. Good food and accommodation in lodges. Well paced and well managed acclimatisation. Good support via satellite phone. Highly recommend The Mountain Company.
Verified
Ned g
1 Reviews
Jun 27, 2021
Verified
Jun 27, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2019

Excellent Mardi Himal trek
First trip to Asia. Hiking was beautiful and not crowded. Went in November. Always felt safe. Pace was appropriate. The meal menu was the same at all the different lodges, so easy to try everything on the menu eventually or just stick with your favorite. Our guides recommended starting the final summit at dawn as opposed to the many who left hours prior to dawn to catch the peak at sunrise. Our trek was much more pleasant as we got to see the beautiful sunrise but were nearly as cold as the crew that left in the dark. The porters were amazing in their ability to carry our gear and their own often arriving long before we did. And picking excellent rest stops to enjoy the view.
Verified
Roy P
1 Reviews
Jun 17, 2021
Verified
Jun 17, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2019

Spectacular Place beyond Words
During Covid we have all had plenty of time to reminisce about trips gone by and the people we met and friendships forged. Its only now that we realise what a great time we actually had out there, while sat back home during lockdown not quite sure when we will be able to plan and book another trip during these uncertain times. I have being fortunate enough to travel to many spectacular remote places around the world, and it has to be said that the Karakoram is right up there with the very best, if not the best place to visit for truly spectacular mountain scenery and friendly people. Breath taking simply does not come close to describing it. No professional photographs or High def tv documentary can come close to the sensory overload that you will be subjected too. We were out there when Nims Purja was also there, completing the Pakistan section of his 14 x 8000mtr peaks in 7 months, so there was naturally a buzz in all the camps we travelled through of will he or wont he. If you are worried about it being Pakistan! then put those worries behind you, as the locals are some of the friendliest people you will meet anywhere in the world despite what you may read or see in the media, and all they want to do is show off their country to you and rightly so. You will witness some truly memorable sights that you simply cannot describe to others who have not being there. The place is just beyond description and has to be seen to appreciate just how vast remote and magnificent it is. I was naturally slightly concerned about the security aspect before going, but having read numerous articles on how things have changed recently and speaking at length to Roland at TMC I was convinced it was safe to visit. HOW GOOD IS TMC. Up there with the very best that I have travelled with and I have travelled extensively. Safety was super high on the agenda ie altitude safety, the medical equipment that the team carried was second to none including Gammow Bag/ Sat Phones/ Full medical kit bag that a paramedic would have being pleased to have. A highly experienced international mountain leader who checked everyone every day for any signs of illness and documented everything so as to spot any trends in anyone feeling rough. The local Guides were absolute top top draw and spoke fluent English and so friendly and funny. All the porters and cooks etc were super friendly and always joking and only too eager to help you if they thought that you were struggling. Roland seemed to be on call 24/7 for weather reports, hints tips and advice while we were out there, food/tents/kit was top draw and well looked after. The whole procedure of booking with TMC and communicating with Roland was effortless, he even responded to enquiries on a sunday. Getting the Pakistan visa upon first reading the process seemed a bit of a pain, but Roland and his team could not of held my hand and guided me through the process any better if they had tried any harder, it turned out to be a smooth simple process. Would I recommend TMC??? Of course without hesitation. Yes you can do it yourself and pick up local guides porters out there or u you can book direct with the local Pakistan Guiding companies. But if you want your family want to have peace of mind that you will be looked after, and they can pick a phone and speak to someone in the UK who is highly experienced and has lots of important contacts in the unlikely event that something should go wrong, Then this is what you pay that little bit extra for. After all, it’s not just about you, it’s also about your family who worry about you as well.
Verified
Colin T
1 Reviews
Jun 09, 2021
Verified
Jun 09, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2018

Upper Mustang - something different
The Mountain Company run top end treks - this ethos goes through their ownership, the group equipment, the treatment and quality of local staff, the willingness and ability to sort problems and the attention to detail (an example of which is there is no final walk out to Jomson instead a vehicle is taken as the road is somewhat uninspiring, windswept and busy), and this leads to great trekking experience, and good companionship. The Naar to Upper Mustang trek starts off on the Annapurna trail before branching off into more arid landscapes away from the crowds heading into the atmospheric walled city of Mustang before rejoining the Annapurna at the end of the trek. It doesn't have the snow capped majesty of other Nepalese Himalayan trips but instead offers a more cultural and possibly contemplative experience - however it is not an easy trek, it is remote, the days can be long and whilst the temperatures are not icy lows the winds can be blowing. We loved it because of its contrasts to other treks in the region. I wouldn't suggest it as a first trek to Nepal (after all who doesn't want to see the big mountains) but it definitely offers something different for a second or third trip.
Verified
Mike P
1 Reviews
Jun 08, 2021
Verified
Jun 08, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2019

Strongly recommended
I highly recommend The Mountain Company. Excellent pre-trek info. Quick replies to emails from the owner. Great service in Nepal. Excellent English trek-guide and a happy, well managed team of Nepalese. Strong emphasis on wellbeing and safety. Fantastic food. Ongoing support of the Nepalese by The Mountain Company is rewarded in its ability to get great people.
Verified
Becky R
1 Reviews
May 30, 2021
Verified
May 30, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2018

Manaslu Circuit with The Mountain Company
I had a fantastic experience of Himalayan trekking with The Mountain Company. Our guide and porters were lovely, very attentive and safety orientated. Our guide was the only guide with a satellite phone on the circuit at the time. Another party made use of it to call for help for a sick trekker as their guide had no means of doing this. The trip was planned brilliantly allowing time for acclimatisation. The food was great and my guide made sure my special diet was catered for, taking great care to make sure I wasn't given any gluten, dairy or egg, even making me soup from scratch when the soup at the tea house was unsuitable for me. The scenery was amazing and we did some fantastic day walks on our acclimatisation days. I couldn't fault the trip. I'd highly recommend The Mountain Company.
Verified
Philip M
1 Reviews
May 30, 2021
Verified
May 30, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2017

K2 base camp trek
The K2 trek is an experience of a lifetime. Concordia camp has to be one of the most spectacular spots in the world to experience more 8000 meter peaks and awesome views. The support, food, care, and experience of the guides and support crew make the day to day experience even better. The opportunity to visit Pakistan and the surrounding countryside was unforgettable. Place this trek on your bucket list and it will live up to every expectation.
Verified
James G
1 Reviews
May 28, 2021
Verified
May 28, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2017

This was a fantastic trek. Well planned from the start, as e
This was a fantastic trek. Well planned from the start, as especially good on acclimitisation. The leader, Nat, was great. There was ample care and medical attention if needed. Ample food too - but inevitably it was basic. If this company is a little more expensive it is worth it. Roland advised well on level of difficultly, neither pushing for numbers on a trek that may be too hard, nor discouraging from a challenge.
Verified
Nina S
1 Reviews
May 28, 2021
Verified
May 28, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2017

Definitely the Company to Book with!
Such a well organized and planned trip. Great guide. Felt well look after, safe and had my concerns addressed before, during and even after the trip. Highly recommend booking with Roland and his team!
Verified
Philippe B
1 Reviews
May 27, 2021
Verified
May 27, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2017

K2 BASE CAMP / MOUNTAIN COMPAGNY
Going to Pakistan from France, difficult or impossible and cost extremly high. Speaking a little english I was looking on internet for foreign agency, and i found The Mountain Compagny. You can reach Roland directly, giving all the best advise. K2 base camp was among the best experience, i had in high mountain treks, even i was many time in Nepal. From Ade Summers, to the local crew, equipment, assistance, place of camp everything was perfect. I discover certainly the most impressive mountain (K2) in the world , far away from the mount Everest and friendly people , respect only basic rules. The landscape for approching Base Camp in Concordia is absolutely amazing You can trust Roland Hunter for having the best experience, in this unforgetable trip, and this fantastic organization. Last information , i was also in Dhaulagiri and Dolpo with the The Mountain Compagny and everything also was excellent. Philippe Beck (France)
Verified
S K
1 Reviews
May 25, 2021
Verified
May 25, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2019

Great trek and peak ascent
Roland and guide Jo were in touch from well before arrival in Nepal to answer questions and help planning. The trek and climb were outstanding and we had the opportunity to be in a remote part of the Nepal Himalaya with solitude. Staff and porters went beyond the call of duty on difficult days. Would not hesitate to choose a future trek/climb with The Mountain Company.
Verified
Gavan H
1 Reviews
May 24, 2021
Verified
May 24, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2019

I undertook the 2 week Manaslu Circuit trek in April 2019. I
I undertook the 2 week Manaslu Circuit trek in April 2019. I once again opted for The Mountain Company, as I had thoroughly enjoyed my previous treks with them. I was not disappointed, and the Manaslu trek proved to be another wonderful Himalayan experience. My enjoyment of the trek was in no small part due to the professionalism and expertise of The Mountain Company staff. This applied to the expert pre-trip information and advice I received when I first enquired about the trek, the support staff in Kathmandu, and of course the selfless Nepalese trekking crew. Nothing was too much trouble, and the emphasis on the safety and well-being of both clients and crew was, as always very impressive. We stayed in tea houses along the way, but the porters also carried 2 tents for emergency usage in case of unexpected mishaps or extreme weather. Whilst the Manaslu Circuit trek is challenging, it is certainly within the capabilities of physically fit first-time trekkers. There are plenty of up and downs, but the walking trails are well graded, and in no way precipitous. Right from the outset the mountain scenery was breathtaking, and there were lots of small, interesting villages and friendly residents. It was a thrill to sight the elusive blue sheep and marmots along the way. This was the first time I had stayed in tea houses, and I enjoyed the experience. They were warm, clean and comfortable, and the meals were varied and the portions plentiful. I have participated in quite a few treks in the Himalayas, but the Manaslu Circuit trek is my favourite. Thank you to Roland and his staff for ensuring I had such a fulfilling adventure. When circumstances allow, I shall certainly be booking another exciting trip through The Mountain Company.
Verified
Charles B
1 Reviews
May 23, 2021
Verified
May 23, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2017

Great trek in Nepal
Manaslu Circuit One of the better treks in Nepal. Starting at 700m(2300ft) and rising to the Larke La at 5106m (16,750ft), it allows you to see a wide variety of life styles and vegetataion, besides enjoying the warmth of lower altitudes. Each day, other than going over the pass, is relatively short allowing you to take in the fantastic scenery and have recovery time at the end of the day. The Mountain Company has an extra “acclimatisation day” in the programme compared with some other operators. Besides giving time for another day of exploration, it meant I was in better condition for the day over the pass and not struggling, making the whole trek more enjoyable. The accommodation is simple, but clean and the food satisfying. The higher the trek goes, the simpler the accommodation, as you might expect. The Mountain Company’s organisation was good and accommodation pre-booked, important at busy times. I joined our trek group in Arughat as I was visiting friends there. I had previously done this trek in 199, when we started in Ghorka, finishing in Jomsom a long camping only trek. The provision of lodges/ tea houses makes an easier trek for all. Our guides had a genuine interest in looking after the well being of their clients, us, the trekkers as well as being able to point out things of interest. The porters were excellent and our baggage always at the next lodge in time for our arrival. I thoroughly recommend this trek in Nepal with The Mountain Company. Charlie
Verified
Giacomo A
1 Reviews
May 22, 2021
Verified
May 22, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2018

K2-2018
To trek in the Karakorum range is an unforgettable experience and would highly recommend it and would include the GondogoroLa Glacier crossing adding to the experience. Nothing like seeing majestic K2 from Concordia and then arriving at the top of the glacier at sunrise and seeing all four 8000's peaks! The Mountain Company did a great job from beginning to end and works with a very capable local organization.
Verified
Jon M
1 Reviews
May 22, 2021
Verified
May 22, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2019

Amazing trek
Fabulous trek, and awesome guides, everything was smooth and trouble free, from the organization to the personnel everything was top notch, not to mention we had an amazing group and fabulous weather, would book again in a heartbeat.
Verified
Paul W
1 Reviews
May 21, 2021
Verified
May 21, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2018

Myself and a couple of mates - all of a certain age- trekked
Myself and a couple of mates - all of a certain age- trekked to EBC with The Mountain Company late in 2018. Outstanding organisation, very professional, friendly, great guides. Couldn't recommend them highly enough.
Copyright © Expedreview 2021