Verified
Colin T
1 Reviews
Jun 09, 2021
Verified
Jun 09, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2018

Upper Mustang - something different
The Mountain Company run top end treks - this ethos goes through their ownership, the group equipment, the treatment and quality of local staff, the willingness and ability to sort problems and the attention to detail (an example of which is there is no final walk out to Jomson instead a vehicle is taken as the road is somewhat uninspiring, windswept and busy), and this leads to great trekking experience, and good companionship. The Naar to Upper Mustang trek starts off on the Annapurna trail before branching off into more arid landscapes away from the crowds heading into the atmospheric walled city of Mustang before rejoining the Annapurna at the end of the trek. It doesn't have the snow capped majesty of other Nepalese Himalayan trips but instead offers a more cultural and possibly contemplative experience - however it is not an easy trek, it is remote, the days can be long and whilst the temperatures are not icy lows the winds can be blowing. We loved it because of its contrasts to other treks in the region. I wouldn't suggest it as a first trek to Nepal (after all who doesn't want to see the big mountains) but it definitely offers something different for a second or third trip.
Verified
Mike P
1 Reviews
Jun 08, 2021
Verified
Jun 08, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2019

Strongly recommended
I highly recommend The Mountain Company. Excellent pre-trek info. Quick replies to emails from the owner. Great service in Nepal. Excellent English trek-guide and a happy, well managed team of Nepalese. Strong emphasis on wellbeing and safety. Fantastic food. Ongoing support of the Nepalese by The Mountain Company is rewarded in its ability to get great people.
Verified
Becky R
1 Reviews
May 30, 2021
Verified
May 30, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2018

Manaslu Circuit with The Mountain Company
I had a fantastic experience of Himalayan trekking with The Mountain Company. Our guide and porters were lovely, very attentive and safety orientated. Our guide was the only guide with a satellite phone on the circuit at the time. Another party made use of it to call for help for a sick trekker as their guide had no means of doing this. The trip was planned brilliantly allowing time for acclimatisation. The food was great and my guide made sure my special diet was catered for, taking great care to make sure I wasn't given any gluten, dairy or egg, even making me soup from scratch when the soup at the tea house was unsuitable for me. The scenery was amazing and we did some fantastic day walks on our acclimatisation days. I couldn't fault the trip. I'd highly recommend The Mountain Company.
Verified
Philip M
1 Reviews
May 30, 2021
Verified
May 30, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2017

K2 base camp trek
The K2 trek is an experience of a lifetime. Concordia camp has to be one of the most spectacular spots in the world to experience more 8000 meter peaks and awesome views. The support, food, care, and experience of the guides and support crew make the day to day experience even better. The opportunity to visit Pakistan and the surrounding countryside was unforgettable. Place this trek on your bucket list and it will live up to every expectation.
Verified
James G
1 Reviews
May 28, 2021
Verified
May 28, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2017

This was a fantastic trek. Well planned from the start, as e
This was a fantastic trek. Well planned from the start, as especially good on acclimitisation. The leader, Nat, was great. There was ample care and medical attention if needed. Ample food too - but inevitably it was basic. If this company is a little more expensive it is worth it. Roland advised well on level of difficultly, neither pushing for numbers on a trek that may be too hard, nor discouraging from a challenge.
Verified
Nina S
1 Reviews
May 28, 2021
Verified
May 28, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2017

Definitely the Company to Book with!
Such a well organized and planned trip. Great guide. Felt well look after, safe and had my concerns addressed before, during and even after the trip. Highly recommend booking with Roland and his team!
Verified
Philippe B
1 Reviews
May 27, 2021
Verified
May 27, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2017

K2 BASE CAMP / MOUNTAIN COMPAGNY
Going to Pakistan from France, difficult or impossible and cost extremly high. Speaking a little english I was looking on internet for foreign agency, and i found The Mountain Compagny. You can reach Roland directly, giving all the best advise. K2 base camp was among the best experience, i had in high mountain treks, even i was many time in Nepal. From Ade Summers, to the local crew, equipment, assistance, place of camp everything was perfect. I discover certainly the most impressive mountain (K2) in the world , far away from the mount Everest and friendly people , respect only basic rules. The landscape for approching Base Camp in Concordia is absolutely amazing You can trust Roland Hunter for having the best experience, in this unforgetable trip, and this fantastic organization. Last information , i was also in Dhaulagiri and Dolpo with the The Mountain Compagny and everything also was excellent. Philippe Beck (France)
Verified
S K
1 Reviews
May 25, 2021
Verified
May 25, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2019

Great trek and peak ascent
Roland and guide Jo were in touch from well before arrival in Nepal to answer questions and help planning. The trek and climb were outstanding and we had the opportunity to be in a remote part of the Nepal Himalaya with solitude. Staff and porters went beyond the call of duty on difficult days. Would not hesitate to choose a future trek/climb with The Mountain Company.
Verified
Gavan H
1 Reviews
May 24, 2021
Verified
May 24, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2019

I undertook the 2 week Manaslu Circuit trek in April 2019. I
I undertook the 2 week Manaslu Circuit trek in April 2019. I once again opted for The Mountain Company, as I had thoroughly enjoyed my previous treks with them. I was not disappointed, and the Manaslu trek proved to be another wonderful Himalayan experience. My enjoyment of the trek was in no small part due to the professionalism and expertise of The Mountain Company staff. This applied to the expert pre-trip information and advice I received when I first enquired about the trek, the support staff in Kathmandu, and of course the selfless Nepalese trekking crew. Nothing was too much trouble, and the emphasis on the safety and well-being of both clients and crew was, as always very impressive. We stayed in tea houses along the way, but the porters also carried 2 tents for emergency usage in case of unexpected mishaps or extreme weather. Whilst the Manaslu Circuit trek is challenging, it is certainly within the capabilities of physically fit first-time trekkers. There are plenty of up and downs, but the walking trails are well graded, and in no way precipitous. Right from the outset the mountain scenery was breathtaking, and there were lots of small, interesting villages and friendly residents. It was a thrill to sight the elusive blue sheep and marmots along the way. This was the first time I had stayed in tea houses, and I enjoyed the experience. They were warm, clean and comfortable, and the meals were varied and the portions plentiful. I have participated in quite a few treks in the Himalayas, but the Manaslu Circuit trek is my favourite. Thank you to Roland and his staff for ensuring I had such a fulfilling adventure. When circumstances allow, I shall certainly be booking another exciting trip through The Mountain Company.
Verified
Charles B
1 Reviews
May 23, 2021
Verified
May 23, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2017

Great trek in Nepal
Manaslu Circuit One of the better treks in Nepal. Starting at 700m(2300ft) and rising to the Larke La at 5106m (16,750ft), it allows you to see a wide variety of life styles and vegetataion, besides enjoying the warmth of lower altitudes. Each day, other than going over the pass, is relatively short allowing you to take in the fantastic scenery and have recovery time at the end of the day. The Mountain Company has an extra “acclimatisation day” in the programme compared with some other operators. Besides giving time for another day of exploration, it meant I was in better condition for the day over the pass and not struggling, making the whole trek more enjoyable. The accommodation is simple, but clean and the food satisfying. The higher the trek goes, the simpler the accommodation, as you might expect. The Mountain Company’s organisation was good and accommodation pre-booked, important at busy times. I joined our trek group in Arughat as I was visiting friends there. I had previously done this trek in 199, when we started in Ghorka, finishing in Jomsom a long camping only trek. The provision of lodges/ tea houses makes an easier trek for all. Our guides had a genuine interest in looking after the well being of their clients, us, the trekkers as well as being able to point out things of interest. The porters were excellent and our baggage always at the next lodge in time for our arrival. I thoroughly recommend this trek in Nepal with The Mountain Company. Charlie
Verified
Giacomo A
1 Reviews
May 22, 2021
Verified
May 22, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2018

K2-2018
To trek in the Karakorum range is an unforgettable experience and would highly recommend it and would include the GondogoroLa Glacier crossing adding to the experience. Nothing like seeing majestic K2 from Concordia and then arriving at the top of the glacier at sunrise and seeing all four 8000's peaks! The Mountain Company did a great job from beginning to end and works with a very capable local organization.
Verified
Jon M
1 Reviews
May 22, 2021
Verified
May 22, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2019

Amazing trek
Fabulous trek, and awesome guides, everything was smooth and trouble free, from the organization to the personnel everything was top notch, not to mention we had an amazing group and fabulous weather, would book again in a heartbeat.
Verified
Paul W
1 Reviews
May 21, 2021
Verified
May 21, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2018

Myself and a couple of mates - all of a certain age- trekked
Myself and a couple of mates - all of a certain age- trekked to EBC with The Mountain Company late in 2018. Outstanding organisation, very professional, friendly, great guides. Couldn't recommend them highly enough.
Verified
Rick B
1 Reviews
May 21, 2021
Verified
May 21, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2019

This was a challenging trek to some of the most spectacular
This was a challenging trek to some of the most spectacular scenery in the world. The Mountain Company made it truly enjoyable. The approach to K2 base camp involves a long trek up the Baltoro glacier, passing by and camping in the shadows of the Trango Towers, Cathedral Peak and the Gasherbrum group. After a week, you finally arrive at Concordia - the confluence of the Baltoro and K2 glaciers - and it is here that you first have views of the massive peak of K2 eight miles in the distance, it's peak 4000m higher. The immensity of the place is breathtaking. There are four 8000m peaks within sight. We moved higher on the K2 Glacier and camped at Broad Peak base camp to make the roundtrip day hike to K2 base camp a pleasureable outing, and returned to Concordia to prepare for the trek over the Gondogoro La. The descent from the pass down the beautiful Hushe valley - a real contrast to the hike up the stark Baltoro glacier - was a great way to round out the trip. I can't say enough good things about The Mountain Company. Pre-booking information was plentiful and spot on. Any questions I had were immediately addressed. The pre-departure information was extremely useful - everything from gear selection to a fitness program, assistance in arranging visas, suggested airline routings... wow. I had several back and forth interactions about what gear to take so I would be properly equipped without exceeding the weight allowance of my kit. My inquiries were always answered promptly. Then there was the trip. Everything on the ground went smoothly from the time I was met after picking up my bags at the airport in Islamabad until I was dropped off again on departure. Our leader, Robert, was exceptional, extremely experienced, good natured with a positive outlook that helped in the difficult days. He was keyed into the needs of each individual in the group and made the logistics trivial for us. The local operator was of high quality and the local guides friendly, funny, helpful and accommodating to us. If there were any problems with porters/muleteers or logistics, they were unseen by the group. The food was plentiful, well-prepared and delicious. We had fresh food for longer than I thought was possible on a trip of this length. I am an experienced traveler and have used a dozen outfitters over the years. This trip with TMC was the best of them, and I will be booking other trips with TMC in the future.
Verified
Anonymous
May 21, 2021
Verified
May 21, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2017

Would recommend
Would recommend. Food was good, logistics very good, scenery magnificent. Unfortunately, one client fell ill and had to be medevacced by helicopter to Kathmandu just before the pass. I believed I had been promised a "single tent where possible" but it turned out to be "possible" only 10% of the nights. But that was my only major complaint. Glad I did it.
Verified
Garner B
1 Reviews
May 21, 2021
Verified
May 21, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2018

Great trek around Manaslu with The Mountain Company!
Some friends and I did the Manaslu Circuit Trek with The Mountain Company in 2018. The owner, Roland Hunter, was directly involved in the process from beginning to end and created one of the best experiences I have enjoyed in many years of traveling the world. Every aspect of the trek was perfectly planned. The trip staff – from Khadka, our head guide, to the porters - were wonderful human beings, extremely knowledgeable and skilled. It was an absolute pleasure to spend three weeks in close quarters with all of them and I have maintained friendships with many of them. I highly recommend the Mountain Company and will be trekking with them again. Garner Bornstein
Verified
Paula H
1 Reviews
May 13, 2021
Verified
May 13, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2017

Nepal at it's best !!!
Top Trip !!! A stunning adventure through changing Himalyan landscapes, from friendly villages to snow covered high passes into the amazing Hidden Valley. The Mountain Company took care of everything and everybody, clients and crew, and shows respect for the environment through which it travels. Well Done !! Some tough days but so rewarding and humbling.
Verified
Anonymous
May 13, 2021
Verified
May 13, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2019

Mountain snow and ice of Saribung
The Saribung Trek is a great combination of initially walking up the Naar Khola Valley up to the beautiful village of Phu, there is plenty of time to explore. From here the trek ascends into the stunning and remote mountains. Plenty of snow, ice and mountain scenery. With TMC we had the benefit of exceptional guides, well trained, attentive and experienced. On a trek like this you want confidence that the guides are trained to help you through the mountains and all conditions. You certainly get with these people. Wonderful to be in the mountains
Verified
Neil P
2 Reviews
May 13, 2021
Verified
May 13, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2017

The trek of Upper Dolpo is exceptional, it includes all that
The trek of Upper Dolpo is exceptional, it includes all that I look for in an expedition in Nepal. It is remote, includes stunning scenery but also benefits from the wonderful Tibet culture, people and villages. Lovely chortens, monasteries, marni walls and prayer wheels are alongside the route. The Mountain Company and their guides know the area well and make sure that you are able to maximise the enjoyment from the experience. They look after you well, keep you safe and ensure you have great food. This is an exceptional trek
Verified
Richard S
1 Reviews
May 11, 2021
Verified
May 11, 2021
Year of Expedtion: 2018

Magical Dolpo
I had trekked in Nepal on 3 previous occasions prior to going on the Upper Dolpo to Mustang GHT trek with the Mountain Company in 2018. I have trekked with them again since and cannot speak highly enough of them. They clearly have a detailed knowledge of the Himalayan region and the different treks.The pre-trip information was spot on and the level of client care throughout was both high and reassuring. Upper Dolpo was my first camping style trek, necessarily so given the remoteness of the area visited. The attention to detail in the organisation and management of the trek itself was excellent. The catering was of a high standard, extending even to cooked lunches in some pretty out of the way spots. The trek itself, while challenging at times, was certainly ‘doable’ and well planned. The main central part of the trek is mountainous involving the crossing of a number of passes with superb views but there are also remote villages affording a brief insight to a very different way of life. We didn’t see a snow leopard on our trip but were ‘entertained’ one night by howling wolves! There are many memorable features of the trek but as well as the absolutely stunning mountain scenery perhaps it would be camping beside the incredibly blue Phoksundo lake or later the wonder of camping on a grassy area beside Shey Gompa facing Crystal Mountain. I would therefore recommend this to anyone looking for a high altitude mountainous trek with wonderful scenery in a very remote part of the world with an interesting history given its once close trading connections with Tibet.
Copyright © Expedreview 2021