4.8/5
based on 34 reviews
Food
Safety
Value
Camps/Logistics
Camaraderie
E
Eva-Maria R
a really wonderful trip to one of the most beautiful mountains in the world! and a nice, not so easy summit for acclimatization! everything was perfectly organized and the whole team in Austria and in Nepal supported us in the best possible way, so that we could reach the summit really enjoying every step! especially the mountain guide and the sherpas did all to guarantee that we could climb up and down safely and that at the same time there was enough freedom of choice for everybody. I´m sure that climbing with Furtenbach Adventures encreases the chances for the summit and also guarantees an amazing, unforgattable adventure!
Year of Expedition : 2022
20-11-2022
M
Martin s
Amazing expedition! Very impressed with the organisation, from the hypoxic preparation at home to the arrival and transfer at Kathmandu and in the mountains where everything was so smooth. The team and Sherpas were amazing and I cannot recommend enough Furtenbach for anyone considering high altitude mountaineering in the Himalaya!
Year of Expedition : 2022
08-11-2022
M
Michael L
Just a quick summary here - feel free to contact me for more details Thanks Lukas and Yasmin Tours for the great orga. Everything was great, incl. 100% success rate at K2. Awesome team that took care about logistics, basecamp and of course all the sherpas.
Year of Expedition : 2022
16-08-2022
K
Kheiry s
Absolutely excellent course, that covers a lot of the elements pre-expedition. The glacier serves as excellent training for any kind of glacier crossing you might need to encounter in future larger expeditions, the repetition of going through it several times serves as an excellent simulation for things to come. The multi-summit days, while uncommon in the Himalayas are an excellent preparation of the mental toughness of physical exertion with a load on multiple days / efforts. So it works very well. The altitude gain is fairly fast so you do 'feel it' and it will simulate a lot of the stresses on your mind & body that you would encounter on a longer expedition. The skills that you pick up here are so valuable. Both technical & mental. Finally i would like to say that our guide and the general organisation by Bianca & team was world class - thank you so much for a really fun trip. You get what you put in, and i really found this to be a pivotal trip for me. Thank you.
Year of Expedition : 2022
08-08-2022
A
Anonymous
Who would have thought that it would have taken three years from when we first met to reaching the summit. Throughout this time the support and professionalism from you and your team has been outstanding. Sandra and Patricia have been relentlessly efficient and encouraging. Always responding quickly and never leaving any question unanswered. Meeting and getting to know Luis of course was a major step towards success. His experience, professionalism and patience as we worked our way across the Spaghetti route, Putha Hiunchuli, Pitztal and Ecuador were instrumental in building my confidence and I enjoyed learning new skills along the way. I will always be grateful that you matched us up and that Luis stuck by me throughout the three years, right up to the final descent. A truly exceptional man. The team of Sherpas lived up to the high traditions that we have come to expect. Kunga and Ang Kaji were omnipresent. Quietly watching, offering support and when I really needed them most they were massive shoulders to lean on. As to the main expedition – everything was exactly as you said. The logistics worked brilliantly, base camp was very comfortable, the food was excellent, the company great and even the weather was perfect. If there was something to suggest that would have improved the experience I would say. But there is nothing to add. Very well done Lukas and knowing that you were in the background for any last minute questions was very reassuring. Many thanks for a great experience.
Year of Expedition : 2022
27-07-2022
J
Johann F
For my 2022 Mount Everest expedition I wanna give Furtenbach Adventures a five star rating. I have been doing a few expeditions with other companies and Mount Everest was my first experience with Furtenbach Adventures. I felt very secure throughout the whole expedition, as well as closely monitored. The Furtenbach team always made sure to constantly check on every group member. Our health was their top priority. For someone with enough pocket money, it is definitely the safest way to reach the summit in the fastest way possible, worldwide. Johann F.
Year of Expedition : 2022
21-07-2022
M
Max U
Neben dem Training in den Schweizer Alpen (Engadin) wollte ich den nächsten Schritt gehen um den grossen Bergen dieser Welt näher zu kommen. Durch die sozialen Medien bin ich schon früh auf Furtenbach Adventures aufmerksam geworden und somit auch auf den Expedition-Vorbereitungskurs im Monte Rosa Massiv. Die Organisation, Vorbereitung und Kommunikation von seitens Furtenbach war exzellent und lies keine Fragen offen. Vor Ort hatten wir zwei sehr erfahrene Guides, die das Team bei Ihren Bedürfnissen und unterschiedlichen Erfahrungen abholten und stets auf Fragen eingegangen sind. Für mich sehr wertvoll waren vor allem kleinen Tipps aufgrund der Expertise der Guides. Ob kompletter Neuling in den Bergen oder auch mit etwas Grunderfahrung, der Kurs bot für jeden im Team eine spannende Zeit, tolle Erfahrungen, viel Wissen und das zu einem wie ich finde, sehr fairen Preis.
Year of Expedition : 2022
05-07-2022
W
Wilhelm S
The most professional and the fastest expedition you can find. 16 days from Kathamdu to everest summit. 21 days from Austria to Nepal and back again. You will also get the most experienced guides and the best sherpas in this expedition. This is also the reason why it is a little bit more expensive than other offers.
Year of Expedition : 2022
13-06-2022
A
Anonymous
100 % success rate with 14 members of wildly different abilities and personalities in two weeks. Amazing . Lukas carefully tailored each person’s expedition and created outstandingly convivial and comfortable camps for everyone to come home to. The technical aspects of the climb, oxygen, pre hypoxic training etc were all cutting edge and took out most of the altitude worries from the equation. If you can afford it and have the resume to join, then this is your best chance for a successful, fun and safe climb.
Year of Expedition : 2022
13-06-2022
M
Michael W
Climbed Everest with them this year. Could not have been better. Superb organisation, superb guides, wonderful Sherpas and local staff. Best logistics on and off the mountain. Just perfect.
Year of Expedition : 2022
07-06-2022
A
Anonymous
As this review is related to the handling of the COVID-19 situation, the review will be left here for all to read however the rating will not be calculated in the overall expedition score. The reason for this is because we do not feel that guides should be judged on how they handle COVID safety.
If you disagree with this, Please click here.
I would not recommend Furtenbach as a good expedition company especially if there are any though situations/ risks associated with the mountaineering trip. I was part of the 2021 Everest South season (which had a lot of challenges: COVID, 2 cyclones, avalanches) and out of all the tour operators Furtenbach was the first to cancel the expedition. They cancelled for all their clients without even giving us a chance to try to summit the day of our summit push. There are some things that I was very disappointed in and were unprofessional throughout my interaction with them: 1. One of the statistics presented on their website is 100% success rate. I discovered that this rate is only applied to the clients who are starting the push for the summit not the ones who actually sign up for the trip. 2. The staff would openly talk badly and make fun of clients with the other clients (they said things like X was carried up the mountain, Y is too old, why is he even here etc) 3. There were also instances where guides screamed at clients in front of others and called them names 4. Due to the fact that only some people were allowed to try to go for the summit, the culture in the team was quite competitive, with the "weak" climbers (slower/ women) feeling marginalized in trainings. I did not see the same in other camps or mountaineering expeditions where there is a strong sense of friendship and support 5. COVID: all guided camps had COVID cases but most were able to mitigate, reduce risk and let their healthy climbers continue the season. When Furtenbach had the first cases I did not feel they took enough strong mitigating actions to prevent the spread: did not ask clients to isolate in their tents (we were all still eating in a common tent from a buffet dinner), clients were not wearing face masks or staying only in the camp (clients were still doing hikes and meeting other clients daily). The company was doing Rapid Antigen tests every day but without the other COVID measures in place I did not feel safe and there was a real risk that the virus could spread quickly To summarize, from my opinion this is a company that makes a lot of promises, uses a lot of marketing but does not provide full value in mountaineering. The Nepalese company we switched to and took us to the summit was very professional on all levels - client services, respect as well as expertise on the mountain. It is very common for western guides to discount local guides by saying they are not good/safe but having seen both operate on Everest I think this is unfounded and Nepalese guides know the mountain better and they care for you as a person/ climber not for their profits. All these statements are my personal opinion and are based on the facts that I knew at that point in time
Year of Expedition : 2021
21-02-2022
Furtenbach Adventures
Dear Iulia, thank you for your review, all feedback is important to us and we are sorry that you had such a disappointing experience. Not everyone accepts the risks related to COVID-19 and not everyone accepts the reality about COVID-19. We believe in science and rely on medical experts, and therefore take the COVID-19 threat serious, especially in a remote place like Mount Everest basecamp at 5200m. During the 2021 Everest climbing season more than 150 COVID positive people have been evacuated from basecamp from different teams, more than 20 COVID positive climbers were evacuated from C2 at 6400m with helicopters, not being able to descend on their own. The safety of our participants and staff is our top priority. It is true that we had to cancel our 2021 Everest expedition for safety reasons due to a massive COVID-19 outbreak in the entire base camp, which affected all teams. This decision, which was made by the team doctor together with the expedition management and the mountain guides, and which was not easy for anyone, was supported by the vast majority of our clients with full understanding. After our cancellation many other operators cancelled their expeditions as well, even the one where you found a spot after our cancellation. The fact that after their cancellation you finally found a local mountain guide without recognized qualifications, whom you were able to convince with money to make a summit attempt despite the immanent COVID risk and in dangerous snow and weather conditions (which in the end several climbers had to abandon partly with frostbite, others could no longer descend independently, Camp 2 was buried by an avalanche), ultimately brought you to your planned summit, for which we congratulate you wholeheartedly, but does not meet our requirements and minimum standards for risk assessment and risk management on the mountain. Moreover, this behavior of a guided expedition client is also in strong conflict with our value system and morals due to the responsibility towards the local labor force on the mountain, the Sherpa. Under these conditions, we did not want to and could not risk the life of one of our Sherpa or mountain guides. We had the strictest camp isolation and hygiene protocol from all basecamp teams. No staff was allowed to leave camp and meet other teams and we also asked all team members multiple times not to leave the camp and meet other teams. But we are not in a position to lock up our team members and can only appeal to their personal responsibility. You yourself have been visiting multiple other teams in basecamp and even invited people from other camps to our common tent against our strong advice. The fact that our team has been one of the last of all teams on the mountain to have COVID cases shows that our strict COVID protocols worked. How „professional“ your summit push with your operator finally was, has been and still is subject to investigation from the authorities. Please feel free to contact us on one of our multiple offers from the past months so that we can talk to you about all details and clear up obvious misunderstandings and information deficits.
03-03-2022
M
Manuel
What a blast?! It was such a perfect expedition and everything worked out very well. Thanks to very professional and strong Sherpas and super good mountain guide we could manage to summit. The organisation and logistics were just perfect. I can highly recommend.
Year of Expedition : 2021
14-12-2021
M
Manfred H
Very good service, advice and support from initial contact until after the expedition. Above average basecamp comfort, more oxygen than other operators, the latest oxygen system, super strong Sherpas. Lukas is a very experienced expedition leader with the safety of the whole team clearly in the first place. Safety and high chances of success on this mountain have their price. Special requests are always catered for. The atmosphere in the team was great.
Year of Expedition : 2016
01-12-2021
P
Philip F
I climbed on a private guide schedule with Furtenbach. Logistics, food, basecamp services, sherpa and western guides are all TOP NOTCH. Especially outstanding was the oxygen logistics, in a year when queues built on the summit ridge between balcony and south summit and led to a similar situation as in 2019 - people from other teams were running out of oxygen, got altitude sickness and at the end several climbers died because of oxygen mismanagement. We always had more than enough oxygen and also gave ressources to others, there have been plenty of spare bottles and even oxygen depots for emergency situations. It was like a military operation, planned in every detail. I felt safe every second and that is what counts when you climb in that mountain. Bravo Lukas Furtenbach for running such a sophisticated operation! .
Year of Expedition : 2016
01-12-2021
S
Sahil P
As my first high altitude expedition, I was relatively inexperienced, but Lukas and his team were firstly very responsive and reassuring when it came to planning an expedition. It was also great to meet Lukas on arrival in Kathmandu, followed by an expertly Sherpa-led trek into base camp. During the course of the climb, safety and kindness stand out as Furtenbach's key strengths, as I felt safe 100% of the way up/down (albeit uncomfortable!). Furtenbach are one of the 'higher-end' operators in the Himalayas, and it seems the other camps recognised that as well. Look no further! :)
Year of Expedition : 2021
01-11-2021
H
Höddi T
I participated in the Furtenbach Manaslu autumn expedition 2021. The organisation was good, from arrival in Kathmandu and during the whole course of the expedition. The food in base camp, and camp 1, was better than what I had experienced during my earlier expeditions in Nepal. The guides and sherpas were excellent. We all summited successfully on September 30th.
Year of Expedition : 2021
25-10-2021
E
Eva-Maria R
8000m in 3 weeks – it seems impossible, but it is possible – if everything runs smoothly; and with Furtenbach Adventures, everything runs very smoothly, so smoothly that it took us only 12 days from Kathmandu to the summit and 1 ½ days back! The office in Austria was always ready to help us with all the paperwork, especially concerning all the different covid-regulations; the pre-acclimatisation in the hypoxic tent really made a difference on the mountain; the staff in base camp and the cook helped us to restore our energy with excellent food; the Sherpas were very strong and friendly; and the guide led us safely and used his vast experience to avoid any problems on the mountain; everybody did his or her very best to help us on our way to the summit and safely back down; and so in fact we all did reach the summit, without any problems and with a big smile on our faces. All in all I was very impressed that every detail of the expedition was so well planned and carried out; I felt perfectly supported on the mountain, so that I could really enjoy the expedition and make my dream come true! I am already looking forward to another expedition with Furtenbach Adventures and can really recommend it to everybody – I`m sure that going with Furtenbach Adventures significantly increases your chances to summit!
Year of Expedition : 2021
25-10-2021
M
Martin S
I can unreservedly recommend Furtenbach adventures. The organization before the expedition and on the mountain was perfect. The support on the mountain was incredible. The Sherpas were all experienced and very strong. The catering was great and the accommodation in the base camp was very luxurious. Flash works, on the summit day I felt very strong. We arrived at base camp on summit day after 14 hours, starting Camp 4 to the summit at midnight, reaching the top at 4:15 AM I stayed at the summit until sunrise before starting to descend and arrived in basecamp at 2 PM. This was very fast. I think this is due to the use of the hypoxic generator before the expedition starts. This reduces the necessary rotations at the meontain and saves energy for the Summit push.
Year of Expedition : 2021
21-10-2021
S
Stefan N
Absolutely fantastic, from start to finish. Great food, services, guides, camps, the whole works.
Year of Expedition : 2021
21-10-2021
M
Matt W
FA runs a tight ship - and it's a good one to be on! From pre-expedition prep to a vibrant and healthy Base Camp scene, to the well-oiled on mountain machine, the whole thing is thorough and each detail thought out and considered. Without reservation, I would return to the Himalaya with FA. Questions about the particulars of the Flash program? Message me directly.
Year of Expedition : 2021
10-10-2021
L
Lorenz H
Excellent, anytime again!
Year of Expedition : 2021
07-10-2021
M
Markus A
As this review is related to the handling of the COVID-19 situation, the review will be left here for all to read however the rating will not be calculated in the overall expedition score. The reason for this is because we do not feel that guides should be judged on how they handle COVID safety.
If you disagree with this, Please click here.
Furtenbach claims to be a premium provider with "100% success" on his website and promises better service and safety. Unfortunately the 2021 Everest (South) expedition which I have been part of has proven these claims to be misleading or plain wrong. The suggested "100% success" on Everest can easily be proven wrong after some web research regarding prior expeditions (e.g. Himalayan database) or asking around among climbers. Most likely Furtenbach's success rate is no higher than that of other Western providers. Just like these, the company also heavily relies on a local Nepalese company which organizes almost all important things on the mountain. During the 2021 Everest expedition Furtenbach decided to cancel the expedition for "safety reasons" right when the summit push was about to begin. The company likes to use the safety argument for its (financial) benefit depending on the situation. Only a few days after Furtenbach had cancelled the 2021 expedition, our entire group (everybody who decided to climb beyond Camp 2) reached the Everest summit and returned safely with all Sherpas from the new Nepalese expedition operator which we had hired after the cancellation by Furtenbach. A lot has been discussed about the 2021 season but these simple facts speak for themselves. 0% success of Furtenbach and all client money gone (zero refund). 100% success with a Nepalese company witch charges a lot less and communicates honestly and openly with all climbers. A lot more could be said/ written about the Furtenbach experience. Empty promises regarding medical monitoring devices on the mountain, false information to us as climbers regarding weather and other expeditions to keep everybody in line with the companies decisions etc. Only during the expedition we found out that several others had similar negative experiences with Furtenbach before - hence, I fell obliged to share here. Don't fall for the clever marketing stories - I don't recommend climbing with them
Year of Expedition : 2021
04-10-2021
Furtenbach Adventures
Dear Markus, Thank you for your review, all feedback is important to us and we are sorry that you had such a disappointing experience. As you can hopefully see from our other reviews, your situation is the exception and far from our usual high standards. We are all the more committed to ensuring that this is resolved and does not happen again. Interaction and cooperation with you was challenging for everyone involved. As you know, we have already made several offers to talk to you on site, but you have always ignored them. Unfortunately, it has not been possible for us to talk to you on any channel. It is a pity that you perceived the expedition in the way you describe during the time you were part of our team before you suddenly left the camp secretly with your luggage in the night to the great astonishment of everyone. Not everyone accepts the risks related to COVID-19 and not everyone accepts the reality about COVID-19. We believe in science and rely on medical experts, and therefore take the COVID-19 threat serious, especially in a remote place like Mount Everest basecamp at 5200m. The safety of our participants and staff is our top priority. It is true that we had to cancel our 2021 Everest expedition for safety reasons due to a massive COVID-19 outbreak in the entire base camp, which demonstrably affected all teams. Thus, our success rate on Everest in 2021 was 0%, instead of the usual 100%. However, we aborted the expedition before the planned summit climb and we follow all other operators here and attribute a global pandemic as well as an earthquake to force majeure and not to a mistake by ourselves. This decision, which was made by the team doctor together with the expedition management and the mountain guides, and which was not easy for anyone, was supported by most of the other clients with full understanding. The fact that after our cancellation you finally found a local mountain guide without recognized qualifications, whom you were able to convince with money to make a summit attempt despite the immanent risk and in dangerous snow and weather conditions (which in the end several climbers had to abandon partly with frostbite, others could no longer descend independently, Camp 2 was buried by an avalanche shortly after your departure), ultimately brought you to one of your two planned summits, for which we congratulate you wholeheartedly - a truly outstanding achievement, but does not meet our requirements and minimum standards for risk assessment and risk management on the mountain. Moreover, this behavior of a guided expedition client is also in strong conflict with our value system and morals due to the responsibility towards the local labor force on the mountain, the Sherpa. Under these conditions, we did not want to and could not risk the life of one of our Sherpa or mountain guides. We would also like to remind you that you received an immediate refund for services not used, you had our full support until your return to Austria, and of course we did not experience any financial benefit from the expedition termination. Please feel free to contact us on one of our multiple offers so that we can talk to you about all details and clear up obvious misunderstandings and information deficits. With kind regards
21-10-2021
P
Peter T
Mit einem Zwischenstopp am Lago Maggiore bin ich wieder zu Hause angekommen, Volker hat bereits die dropbox ins Leben gerufen und ich konnte nochmals die Exkursionswoche revue passieren lassen. Tatjana und Didi, euch gehört ein grosses Dankeschön, denn durch eure Kompetenz, Weitsicht, Einfühlungsvermögen, und vielen weiteren Attributen, habt ihr die Woche zu einem Erlebnis und einer Erfahrung der Superlative gemacht. Als Beispiel, die erste Nacht in unserem Zeltlager auf dem Gletscher sind mir die Füsse fast abgefroren, in der zweiten Nacht mit eurem grossen Repertoire an Tipps und Tricks konnte ich Erholung in der Nacht kreieren. Durch euer unermüdliches Gespür uns zwischen Theorie und Praxis ein authentisches Exkursionsfeeling in noch höheren Lagen zu übermitteln habt ihr unser Ziel erreicht, übertroffen und unsere Sinne geschärft was es heisst sich im Höhenklima zu bewegen. Wie schon angesagt, ich werde sicher persönlich keine Höhentour im Himalaya oder sonst wo unternehmen, da diese meinem nächsten Leben gehört. Eines ist aber sicher, den Mont Blanc werde ich als höchster Berg Europas noch bezwingen. Euch, nochmals einen herzlichen Dank, bleibt gesund und vielleicht kreuzen sich unsere Wege auf dieser wunderschönen Welt wieder! Sportliche Grüsse Peter
Year of Expedition : 2020
08-09-2020
A
Anja
Having previously climbed Everest with Furtenbach, it was no question for me that they would be my provider of choice for climbing Broad Peak & K2. There are important things that set them apart, such as up-to-date and personalised advice during the preparation, great flexibility when it comes to travel logistics or catering for special (dietary) needs, high-quality equipment for comfort in basecamp and safety on the mountain, and a fantastic team of Sherpas supporting the expedition. You can tell that Lukas Furtenbach and his team are very dedicated to making every expedition a success, and that they show great attention to detail. Knowing of their professionalism and high standards also helped friends and family back home worry not too much whilst I was out on the expedition :) All in all, I can highly recommend Furtenbach
Year of Expedition : 2019
25-01-2020
A
Anonymous
The FA Team continues to prove year after year they are a top expedition organizer & leader. 2019 was no different. Are you going into the Baltoro, up a Tibetan 8,000m route, or to a similar big mountain objective? If so, Furtenbach Adventures is a sound choice. The principles & standards FA deliver on make a significant experiential difference when you're on the mountain. My most recent FA climbing team enjoyed thorough pre-trip organizing/prep, amazing food quality through to the last moment of the trip, impressive camp infrastructure, and world-class guides. On top of that, their climber selection process yielded an incredibly strong team to which I was fortunate to join. Taken as a whole, the FA Team was one of the strongest on the mountain during the 2019 Everest season. I would not hesitate to choose Furtenbach Adventures for any high-consequence expedition in the future. Lukas is of course fantastic. The FA team members he surrounds himself with are also fantastic (e.g. Patricia, Luis, Rupert, FA's Makalu Posse, & more).
Year of Expedition : 2019
24-12-2019
G
Gabriel P
It has been a 5-week wonderful adventure on this superb and historical Everest north-east ridge. Views are amazing and climbing is of high interest on that route. A precise and secure organization is a key success factor in such an environnement and Lukas and the whole Furtenbach team are doing amazingly well at that exercise. Great memories!
Year of Expedition : 2019
11-11-2019
H
Hakan B
Furtenbach Adventures offers a unique mountaineering experience by perfectly combining safety, comfort, and technology. I was thrilled to join the Flash Expedition team led by Lukas Furtenbach in May 2019. His leadership, top professional guides and a team of incredible Sherpas have helped us reach the summit on time and return safely to the basecamp during a season of very challenging conditions. The organization utilized technology in the best way possible. More importantly, safety was the top priority in every single moment of the expedition. Oxygen tanks are the most crucial units on Mount Everest and thanks to the dedication of the Sherpas, there were plenty of tanks for everyone along the way - up to the summit. I slept in an altitude tent for 2 months ahead of the expedition to get acclimatized for the mountain. The tent simulates higher altitudes by reducing the amount of oxygen which causes an almost impossible environment to sleep in. However, acclimatizing for two months allowed our team to reach the summit in a much shorter time. Thank you, Lukas and the team for your incredible efforts. Highly recommended for this once-in-a-lifetime experience!
Year of Expedition : 2019
31-10-2019
D
David R
I've gone on two Broad Peak/K2 expeditions with Furtenbach now, first in 2018 and again in 2019. The Furtenbach team is incredibly professional -- if you want an expedition done right, the way you'd expect a Swiss or Austrian company to handle details, then Furtenbach won't let you down. Safety is the number 1 priority. There is no "summit-at-all-costs" mentality. The expeditions are led by IFMGA guides. I had Roli Striemitzer and Max Berger my years. These guys were awesome and true alpinists. I have referred friends who climbed with Furtenbach on Everest as well and they reported top-notch service. Highly recommend the company.
Year of Expedition : 2019
26-10-2019
A
Anonymous
The expedition was perfectly organised and we spent some amazing days in the Baltoro region
Year of Expedition : 2019
24-10-2019
M
Manuel
My trip was just great. The organisation, the food and especially the whole team (guide, sherpas and kitchen). I never felt unsafe and were always optimistic in reaching the summit. Only the weather could have been better.
Year of Expedition : 2019
24-10-2019
A
Anonymous
Dear Lukas, I would like to send you a very big THANK YOU for making my dream possible. I participated various expeditions during the last years, but I have never seen a better set-up than yours during the 2018 Everest North SIDE Expedition. What you offered was just perfect, professional and safe. I have spent more than seven weeks with your company and team. To be honest there is no single point I could complain about. The entire set-up like equipment, staff, Sherpas, guide, food, hygiene, weather forecast was the best I have seen in any expedition. Staff and Sherpas are always doing the hardest job at the mountain, but what your guys where pulling off was just amazing. The mountain and the surprises mother nature has are hard enough for the rest Furtenbach is a guarantee that things that could be under control, are under control. I always recommend your company to my friends and there would be only one operator for my next expedition, it would be Furtenbach. Thanks a lot! Viele Grüße! Dennis
Year of Expedition : 2018
18-10-2019
C
COURTNEY A
The expedition was so well organized, staffed, and executed that I won't climb an 8000m peak with any other guide service. It's tough for me to think about what the Furtenbach team could do better because the expedition was so well done. Most importantly, the guide and Sherpa teams were very, very experienced. I'd argue that they were the most experienced group on the mountain. I noticed right away that they tended to be a bit older, more mature, and had more summits than other teams. The lead Sherpa, Mingma, had summited 22 times and was tied for 2nd most summits ever. Our lead guide, Rupert, had not only climbed Everest solo without oxygen and without Sherpa support but also he performed a harrowing rescue of a snowblind climber 300 feet below the summit. My personal Sherpa partner Renji had 8 summits, and all the Sherpa that partnered with the members had summited before, often from both North and South sides. These are people you want to have around if something unexpected were to happen. Second, the Furtenbach team screens the other members very well. This allowed the team to move and function safely. Naturally, if there is one person on a team struggling or in trouble, then all resources should and do rush to that person to help them. Furtenbach prevents this as best they can by making sure all the members are truly qualified and prepared for the climb – with enough experience and prior summits to safely and successfully climb Everest. It’s important to them not only that they summit each year, but also that every member does so – therefore, they screen members well, and as a result, every member benefits. This is unique and rare and yet of the utmost importance. Finally, the accommodations, camps, and food were amazing. My team joked that we all came back from our Everest climb fatter because Thiren and the kitchen staff made such good food. We ate dinner at a table with armchairs and dessert every night except the 3 to 4 nights above 20,000 feet. Additionally, no one on my team had any GI or stomach issues, which speaks to the high hygiene standards of the kitchen. It’s almost inevitable that each climber will experience GI/stomach issues during an expedition, so the fact that none of us did with Furtenbach speaks volumes of their standards, staff, and quality. I highly encourage my climber friends who want to climb Everest to do so with Furtenbach. A friend who had climbed Everest twice (second time without oxygen) recommended Furtenbach. It’s the best Everest advice I ever received, and I want my friends to be safe and successful. I’m happy to talk with any prospective Furtenbach climbers directly (courtney.a.reardon@gmail.com).
Year of Expedition : 2018
15-10-2019
J
Jonas
Alpine Ausbildungskurse findet man im Internet ohne Ende, Expeditionsvorbereitungskurse wenige, im Monte-Rosa-Massiv nur noch einen – bei Furtenbach. Doch das perfekt geeignete und obendrein wunderschöne Trainingsgebiet ist nur ein Grund, ausgerechnet diesen Kurs zu wählen. Als weitere Gründe kann ich nach fünf absolut erlebnis- und lehrreichen Tagen im August 2018 nennen: • Hervorragender Guide – Paul Koller vermittelte uns anschaulich und kompetent zig alpinistische Fähigkeiten, Kenntnisse und expeditionsrelevante Tipps und Tricks. (Inklusive kleiner, aber wichtiger Details, Beispiel: Feuerstein statt Feuerzeug – Ersterer funktioniert immer!) • Tolles Team – wirklich alle sehr hilfsbereit, kooperativ und einfach nett! • Top Organisation – sowohl im Vorfeld durch Furtenbach als auch durch Paul vor Ort! • Zwei Übernachtungen im selbst aufgebauten Hochlager – für mich ein, wenn nicht sogar das Highlight des Kurses. Genau das will man ja bei einem Expeditionsvorbereitungskurs auch erleben! • Sieben Viertausender auf einen Streich! • Übernachtung auf der der höchsten Hütte Europas (Capanna Regina Margherita, 4554m) • Last but not least: fairer Preis (Zweifel daran? Dann einfach mal googeln, was allein die Übernachtung auf der Hütte kostet!) Würde ich den Kurs weiterempfehlen? Meine Antwort wird wenig überraschen: uneingeschränkt ja!
Year of Expedition : 2018
15-10-2019
M
Marc-Antoine
Perfect organization. Safest way to climb up to the summit and come back down, safe. 2 experienced sherpas/climber + lot's of oxygen for the summit day are key. Every possible detail is being thought off to make the days at the base camp more comfortable : large individual tent, efficient hot shower, correct food, large common tents etc... Preparation in the head tent during 8 weeks at home is long with many uncomfortable nights of bad sleep, but this pre acclimatization perfectly works up to 7000m ! Don't hesitate to go back to shigatze (3-4 days) after the acclimatization in ABC to get back in shape.
Year of Expedition : 2019
15-10-2019
M
Magdalena
Der Traum 4000er wurde endlich wahr, lange war ich mir unsicher und Fragen wie: schaff ich das? Wie geht es mir mit der Höhe? Wie sind die Nächte im Zelt auf über 4.000 m? haben mich dauerhaft beschäftigt. Natürlich spürte ich die Höhe ein bisschen und klar waren die Nächte im Zelt kein Honig schlecken, aber am Ende der Tour war klar, dass alles halb so schlimm war. Dank der Unterstützung und der super Tipps unseres Bergführers Paul, sowie der einwandfreien Organisation durch Furtenbach Adventures. Macht definitiv Lust auf mehr!
Year of Expedition : 2018
15-10-2019
M
Michael L
In spring 2018 I had the amazing experience of climbing Mount Everest together with Furtenbach Adventures. In short – it was marvelous. Previous to the trip I have done quite a lot of research on different providers and options. And as you are probably aware, there are many in the market. In retrospective, I must say that it was just fantastic. Lukas Furtenbach and his team are doing an outstanding job. - Pre-trip organization: It was just perfectly organized. There were continuous updates that gave full transparency and clarity on progress and planning. It was just so easy to follow, and not even one moment of doubt or ambiguity. - Pre-acclimatization: The pre-acclimatization at home was definitely worth it. Especially when climbing from the north side, where you arrive in the base camp quite quickly. Nobody of the team had any problems with the altitude. We arrived in basecamp and were extremely fit and felt great! When I looked at other camps the picture was quite worse at some points – lots of suffering and illness. - Base camp: The base camp is just fantastic. The tents are great, ranging from the supreme, heated living room tent, to the cozy dining tent, shower tent, our private sleeping tents – all perfect. The food and kitchen were astonishing. The kitchen team provided excellent food (up to 7000m actually), snacks and drinks were available all the time and everywhere. Like living in a giant supermarket with a personal chef. - Climbing: We were doing 3 rounds in total which shown to be super effective. First round was to ABC (for two days), second to 7300m and third to summit and back. The approach ensured that nobody of the team felt sick at all. While the moving days were given, I was quite happy that everybody was able to walk on his on (slower or faster than the others). There was always a possibility to get accompanied by a Sherpa (or Rupert) which gave us all the feeling of safety and freedom at all times. Overall, it was astonishing. The team is absolute great, super nice, funny and helpful at all times. Rupert (our guide) did an outstanding job – an absolute dream team with the Sherpas. Feel free to contact me in case of questions. Best Michael Lutz (lutz.michael@bcg.com)
Year of Expedition : 2018
15-10-2019
Furtenbach Adventures
#saferest #furtenbachadventures
Call Guide

Telephone

+43512204134

View Address

Address

Höttinger Gasse 12, 6020 Innsbruck, Österreich

Visit Website
Furtenbach Adventures
#saferest #furtenbachadventures
Furtenbach Adventures
#saferest #furtenbachadventures
Call Guide

Telephone

+43512204134

View Address

Address

Höttinger Gasse 12, 6020 Innsbruck, Österreich

Visit Website